Please share:

The Cross River State Election Petition Tribunal has dismissed five additional petitions in the state and ruled in favour of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) had filled the petitions against PDP candidates challenging the outcome of the February 23, 2019 National Assembly elections.

Judgment in the five petitions given by panel two of the tribunal yesterday followed barely 24 hours after the first panel gave judgment in 10 cases in favor of the PDP candidates.

The second panel led by Justice A. A. Babawale with justices S. B. Shuaibu M. C. Okoh as members, delivered judgment in the suit by Wabilly Nyiam of APC against Rose Oko of the PDP for Cross River North Senatorial District.

It also ruled on Jude Ngaji of APC versus Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe of PDP for Ogoja/Yala Federal Constituency and that of Mkpanam Obo-Bassey Ekpo of APC and Daniel Asuquo of PDP for Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency.

Others are, Akibe Ekpenyong of APC against Daniel Eta Mbora for Odukpani/Calabar Municipal Federal Constituency and Dominic Aqua-Edem of APC against Essien Ayi of PDP for Bakassi/Calabar South/Akpabuyo Federal Constituency.

The petitioners had complained that they were unlawfully excluded from participating in the election through the actions of the second respondent, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The tribunal maintained that APC should blame itself for because its unresolved internal dispute gave rise to the Federal High Court judgement, which order remained valid and was obeyed by INEC.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly Election Petition Tribunal presided over by Justice Jennifer Ijohor, yesterday upheld the elections of Bassey Albert (Akwa Ibom North East Senatorial District), Unyime Idem (Ukanafun/Oruk Anam Federal Constituency) and Nse Ekpenyong (Oron/Udung Uko/Urueffong Oruko/Mbo/Okobo Federal Constituency).

The three-member tribunal sitting in Uyo ruled in favour of PDP, citing the petitioners’ failure to prove allegations of criminality and non-compliance with provisions of the Electoral Act as claimed by the petitioners.

Candidates of the APC had alleged that the winners emerged through a flawed electoral process and sought nullification of the results, but the tribunal ruled in favour of the respondents.

Please share: