Please share:

By Uwakmfon DAN

Coming less than twenty four hours to the Presidential and National Assembly Elections, Stakeholders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Essien Udim Local Government Area, have raised alarm over incessant harassment of their members by the All Progressives Congress (APC), alleging that the immediate past Senate Minority Leader, Godswill Akpabio, is camping thugs for Saturday’s polls.

In a Communique released at the end of a meeting of Essien Udim PDP Elders and Leaders held at Afaha Ikot Ebak, earlier this week, the Stakeholders condemned what they described as false information given by Senator Akpabio to the Police, aimed at
compelling arrest and detention of PDP youths, Party Executive and leaders in Essien Udim before the Saturday’s polls.

While describing the plot as an attempt to give the APC undue advantage over PDP in the scheduled polls, the Stakeholders also alleged that the trio of Senator Akpabio, Hon. Nse Ntuen and Hon. Emmanuel Akpan are also operating illegal camps with the help of his Cousin, Supol Idorenyin Akpabio who is the O.C
Anti-Robbery, Akwa Ibom State Police Command.

“We want to alert the public that APC chieftains in Essien Udim L.G.A namely; Sen. Godswill O. Akpabio, Hon. Nse E. Ntuen and Emmanuel S. Akpan are Operating Illegal camps and training thugs with help of Supol Idorenyin Akpabio, O.C Anti-Robbery, Akwa Ibom state police command. The APC intend to use these thugs with illegal police and army uniforms to unleash terror in Essien Udim L.G.A before, during and after the elections.

“The grand plot of the APC is to use fake soldiers and fake policemen with arms on the election day to abscond with INEC sensitive materials to their hide outs at Unoma Akpabio farms premises at Ukana Ikot Ide, Semek factories premises at Ukana Ikot Ntuen, Barr. Ibanga Akpabio’s compound at Ukana Ikot Ntuen, skill acquisition/vocational school, Ukana, compound of the APC Federal House Member, Hon. Emmanuel S. Akpan, Ikot Uko village, Odoro Ikot clan amongst other Hideouts in Essien Udim L.G.A to Rig the elections in favour of APC.”

They noted that the camping of militants and armed men by Rt. Hon. Emmanuel S. Akpan, Rt Hon. Nse Effiong Ntuen and Elder Ntiedo Usoro, will bring death, injury and harm during the elections if not prevented by law enforcement agencies and said Essien Udim people should hold Senator Godswill Akpabio and his cohorts responsible for any violence or death before or during the elections of 23rd February, 2019 and 9th March, 2019.

The Stakeholders said they are prepared to participate in the elections in total compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act,
but however advised the Police, Army and other security agencies, to be neutral and act within the confines of the law before, during and after the elections in Essien Udim L.G.A to avoid any breach of peace.

They also urged the Police Commissioner to warn Supol Idorenyin Akpabio, to desist from illegal, unwarranted and politically motivated arrest of innocent PDP members in Essien Udim L.G.A and threatening the arrest of innocent citizens in the area with night patrols of the L.G.A

They described Essien Udim people as law abiding citizens who will resist any attempt by Senator Akpabio to cause violence and breakdown of law and order in the area, before, during and after the elections.

They named those billed for arrest and detention to include Obong M.A Afangideh, Hon. E.E.P. Umanah, Hon. Raphael Isobara, Barr. Imo-owo Okpokpo, Hon. Cyril peter Udoh, Hon. Sunnylekekere J. Udoh, Dr lambert M. Udoh, Hon. Cornel Udo, Hon. John Ekanem, Hon. Peter O. Umo Essinwang, Knight U. H. Isobara, Dr Isidore Akpan Ebe, Engr Oliver O. Ebong, Elder Daniel Udo, Hon Emmanuel Useh, Mr Francis Udo Obuji, Prince Ukpong Akpabio and Barr. Mike Ebong.

Others included, Hon. Aniekan Okon Akpan, Prince Lambert Orok, Hon. Barr. Maurice Udoka, Hon. Nsini Umana, Godwin Dennis Akpan, Hon. Anthony Luke, Hon. Boniface B. Inyang, Hon. Joseph W. Umoh, Hon. Joseph Umana, Damian Paul Okorie, Mr. Brendan Etokidem, Kay Obong Edet, Mr Unwana Idiong, Hon. Uduakobong Innocent Umoh, Hon. Martins Umanah, Hon. Uduak I. Isobara and Barr. Esse G. Umoh.

Please share: