Please share:

To further assure residents of Akwa Ibom State that the security of lives and property in the state is non-negotiable, Governor Udom Emmanuel has strengthened the state security apparatus by inaugurating the State Community Policing Advisory Committee (SCPAC) and State Community Policing Committee (SCPC).

The event took place at the State Banquet Hall, Government House, Uyo, on Monday.

A statement made available to Ibom Telegraph by the Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO), CSP Nudam Fredrick, confirmed members of the SCPAC to include Chairman of the State Council of Chiefs, Ntenyin Solomon Etuk (Chairman); State Commissioner of Police, CP Imohimi Edgal (Co-Chairman); State Commandant of Nigeria Security and Civil Defense Corps (NSCDC), CMDT Samuel Adekunle Fadeyi; State Director of SSS, Mohammed Kaumi; State Comptroller of Custom, DC Oroi C; Sector Commandant of Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC), CC Ogennekaro Sunday; State Comptroller of Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS), COMPT. Livingstone Amadi; and Mr. Mohammed Malami Sokoto of the NDLEA.

Others included the State Comptroller of NCS, CC Alex Odita; Chairman of PCRC, Obong A. S. Udofia; Leader of NSCIA, Alh. Hassan Sadaoki; representative of Eket Senatorial District, Rev. Dr. Effiong Isangidighi; representative of Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District, Senator Emmanuel Ibokessien; representative of Uyo Senatorial District, Maj. Ene Horgan Rtd, and representative of CAN, Rev. Ndueso Ekwere.


The statement further revealed members of the State Community Policing Committee (SCPC) to include the Deputy Commissioner of Police, DCP Augustine Arop; Paramount Ruler of Udung Uko, HRM Bassey Etim Edet; Vice Chancellor of AKSU, Prof. Eno Ibanga; Deputy Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Princess Felicia Bassey; representative of NSCIA, Alh. Ahmed Isa; representative of Nigeria Labour Congress, Comrade Sunny James; representative of National Council for Women Society, Obongawan Lovina Umo-Effah; representative of youth, Comrade Aniefiok Iwaudofia; representative NBA, Barr. Esther Archibong; representative of CAN, Arch. Bishop Andrew Uwanta; representative of Civil Society Organization, Barr. Clifford  Thomas, and representative of the physically challenged, Mrs. Offong E.



“The occasion was graced by the Inspector General of Police, IGP Abubakar Adamu Mohammed NPM, mni, who was ably represented by the Supervisory DIG South-South and DIG in charge of Force Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Department, DIG Anthony Ogbizi Michael fdc. Other Senior Police Officers in attendance were AIG Community Policing Project (CPP), ably represented by CP Evelyn Tamunoimi Peterside, AIG Zone 6, AIG Zaki Ahmed, DC Operations, Akwa Ibom State, DCP Mohammed Auwal, the six Area Commanders of Eket, Etim Ekpo, Oron, Ikot Ekpene, Uyo, and Itu-Ibiono; Squadron Commanders, 26 and 57 PMF, amongst others. Also in attendance as Special Guests were Commander, 2 Brigade, Nigerian Army, Brig. Gen. FU Mijiyawa, Deputy Corps Commander, Prince I Abosi, and others.”


“Notable government functionaries in attendance amongst others included: the Chief Judge of Akwa Ibom State, Hon. Justice Godwin Abraham, Secretary to the State Government (SSG), DR. Emmanuel Ekuwem, Chief Whip, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Bassey, Deputy Chief Whip/Chairman House Committee on Security, Youth and Sport, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Otuekong Nse Essien, Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Hon. Charles Udoh.”


“The Police Command therefore reassures the general public that in the coming days, inauguration of Area Command Community Policing Advisory Committee (ACPAC), Local Government Community Policing Advisory Committee (LCPAC) and Divisional Community Policing Committee (DCPC) will be commenced, and this will mark another turning point in the effective and efficient policing of the State,” the statement concluded.


Please share: