Please share:

By Joseph Robert

Governor Udom Emmanuel’s drive to make Akwa Ibom a Science and Technology hub has received a major boost as three Akwa Ibom youths have carted away fantastic prizes at different National Science and Technology competitions.

The three Akwa Ibom youths are Nse Esu of Bravura Electrical Products Ltd who took 2nd position in the Technology Entrepreneurs category with his “Automatic Switches “ production in the just concluded National Science and Technology Expo’ 2019 held in Enugu State, Otomfonabasi Akpan, an ex-student of Air Force Comprehensive School, Uyo who won 2nd prize in Biology in the 774 Young Scientists Presidential Award 2018 and Joshua Mark, an SS3 student of Nigerian Christian Institute (NCI) who took overall third position in 774 Young Scientists Presidential Award 2019.

In a reception organised for the winners in his office, the Commissioner for Science and Technology, Prof. Nse Essien said that development in Science and Technology in the State in the past three years has been very remarkable due to special attention paid to the sector by Governor Udom Emmanuel led administration.
Prof. Essien who congratulated the winners on their performance also disclosed that in the preceding years, Akwa Ibom Ibom had won laurels in various Science

Fairs and Expositions.
He attributed the success to hardwork and cooperation of critical partners with the State government in creating an enabling environment in Science and Technology in the State and commended all the winners for a job well done.

The Commissioner paid special tribute to the State Governor for investing enormously in Science and Technology and the Science Teachers Association of Nigeria (STAN) for its mentoring roles.


He presented awards and financial rewards to the winners, the Schools and teachers that presented the students, Science Teachers Association of Nigeria (STAN), Akwa Ibom Branch and also presented to Nigerian Christian Institute (NCI) the science kits donated by the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology.

In their separate remarks, the winners, Nse Esu; Otomfonabasi Akpan, represented by a teacher at Air Force Comprehensive School, Uyo, Mrs. Mfon Akpan; Joshua Mark and the State Chairman of Science Teachers Association of Nigeria (STAN), Dr. Anyanime Akpan thanked the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology, the State Ministry of Science and Technology and all the stakeholders in Science and Technology pursuits who made the feat possible and promised to keep the flag flying.

In his remarks in the event that was witnessed by Directors in the Ministry and Executive members of STAN, Akwa Ibom Branch and relatives of the winners, the Permanent Secretary in Ministry of Science and Technology, Engr. Nicholas Idungafa thanked Governor Udom Emmanuel for the support given to the Ministry.

He also expressed the readiness of the Ministry to sustain the partnering efforts with stakeholders in the sector so as to record more successes for the State and wished the winners well.
At the National Science and Technology Expo’ 2019, Joshua Mark and Nse Esu were awarded N500, 000.00 and scholarship to PHD level in any Nigerian University and N750, 000.00 respectively.

Please share: